Forschen
DE EN
x
Pioneers

Pioneers - pioneers, champions

WikiPedia explains the origin of the word in the 17th century from the French word pion = foot soldier (< lat. Pes = foot). In the military field, pioneers were primarily concerned with the construction of new roads and bridges. In all other areas, pioneering is about paving the way for new ideas, new insights and new ways of working. Pioneers gain new insights and insights early on and open up new topics for the general public.

We are pioneers for the digital transformation and have opened up many new ways around open source technologies and the cloud. At this point, let´s look at some of our famous pioneer predecessors.

James Cook

(Born November 7, 1728 in Marton at Middlesbrough; † Februar 14, 1779 in Kealakekua-Bay, Hawaiʻi)

English navigator and explorer. In particular, James Cook is known for his voyages of discovery into the South Seas, where he discovered numerous islands and cartographed areas and thus paved the way for successors. On numerous islands, Cook made the first contact with locals, who had until then had no contact with the supposedly civilized world. He is also known for his time in Tahiti. Above all, Cook is honored for having created extensive maps through countless surveys and records. Photo: By Nathaniel Dance-Holland - from the National Maritime Museum, United Kingdom, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=18059

Roald Engelbregt Gravning Amundsen

(Born Juli 16, 1872 in Borge, Norway; † probably Juni 18, 1928 near the Bear Island)

Norwegian navigator and polar explorer. Amundsen was the first person to reach the geographic South Pole on 14.12.1911. He was successful in an exciting race with other Antarctic pioneers and thus made history. Since the penguins are very close to us, we are, of course, particularly interested in the Antarctic.

Jane Goodall

(Born April 3, 1934 in London)

Jane Goodall is one of the most famous behavioral researchers. Her work with chimpanzees and the understanding of chimpanzee behavior, including as part of her on-the-spot study in Tanzania, has significantly shaped our knowledge of primates. Her intense and close-up occupation with the animals was the stuff for many books and films. She can be called a pioneer in this field without exaggeration. Photo: By Nick Stepowyj at https://www.flickr.com/people/nickstep/ - https://www.flickr.com/photos/nickstep/5407412315/, CC BY 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=13238971

Marie Skłodowska Curie

(Born November 7, 1867 in Warsaw, Russian Empire; † Juli 4, 1934 bei Passy)

Marie Curie literally gave her life for science. She is known primarily for her research on radioactivity. She is the only woman who has received the Nobel Prize more than once (1903 Physics, 1911 Chemistry) and did pioneering work in both these fields.

Linus Benedict Torvalds

(Born Dezember 28, 1969 in Helsinki)

On August 25, 1991, Linus Torvalds wrote a post in the compos Minix newsgroup, announcing that he was working on Minix, an operating system that would probably never be widely used. Looking back, this was the starting point for the unique operating system of Linux. Linus Torvalds had laid the foundation for something that has worked in the following years on a hitherto unprecedented variety of platforms from the mobile device to the mainframe computer. Without this step, many revolutionary developments on the Internet would not have happened. Many companies that are global corporations are essentially building on the foundation Linus Torvald laid in the early 1990s. Against this background, Linus Torvalds is truly a pioneer for us.

More about GONICUS

Making of

Making of

Jobs

Jobs

Pioneers

Pioneers

Philosophy

Philosophy

x
x

Der Job interessiert mich!

Wir haben Deine E-Mail-Adresse erhalten und melden uns kurzfristig bei Dir!

Forschen
DE EN
x
Pioniere

Pioniere - Wegbereiter, Vorkämpfer

WikiPedia erklärt die Herkunft des Wortes im 17. Jahundert aus dem französischen Wort pion = Fußsoldat (< lat. pes = Fuß). Im militärischen Bereich ging es bei den Pionieren in erster Linie um den Wege- und Brückenbau. In allen anderen Bereichen geht es darum, den Weg für neue Ideen, neue Erkenntnisse, neue Arbeitsweisen zu ebnen. Pioniere gewinnen früh neue Einblicke und Erkenntnisse und erschließen neue Themen für die Allgemeinheit.

Wir sind Wegbereiter für den Digitalen Wandel und habe viele neue Wege rund um Open-Source-Technologien und Cloud erschlossen. An dieser Stelle sei aber auch einmal auf unsere berühmten Pionier-Vorgänger verwiesen.

James Cook

(* 7. November 1728 in Marton bei Middlesbrough; † 14. Februar 1779 in der Kealakekua-Bucht, Hawaiʻi)

Englischer Seefahrer und Entdecker. Insbesondere für seine Entdeckungsreisen in die Südsee, bei denen er zahlreiche Inseln entdeckte und Gebiete katographierte und damit den Weg für Nachfolger bereitete, ist James Cook bekannt. Bei zahlreichen Inseln stellte Cook den ersten Kontakt mit Einheimischen her, die bis dahin keinen Kontakt zur vermeintlich zivilisierten Welt hatten. Bekannt ist ausserdem seine Zeit auf Tahiti. Gewürdigt wird Cook aber vor allen Dingen, weil der durch unzählige Vermesseungen und Aufzeichnungen umfangreiches Kartenmaterial geschaffen hat. Foto: Von Nathaniel Dance-Holland - from the National Maritime Museum, United Kingdom, Gemeinfrei, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=18059

Roald Engelbregt Gravning Amundsen

(* 16. Juli 1872 in Borge, Norwegen; † vermutlich 18. Juni 1928 nahe der Bäreninsel)

Norwegischer Seefahrer und Polarforscher. Amundsen war am 14.12.1911 der erste Mensch, der den geographischen Südpol erreicht hat. Dabei war er in einem spannenden Rennen mit anderen Antarktis Pionieren erfolgreich und erreichte somit Historisches. Da uns die Pinguine besonders nahe stehen, sind wir natürlich besonders an der Antarktis interessiert.

Jane Goodall

(* 3. April 1934 in London)

Jane Goodall ist eine der berühmtesten Verhaltensforscherinnen. Ihre Arbeit mit und ihre Erkenntnisse zum Verhalten von Schimpansen, unter anderem im Rahmen ihrer Studien vor Ort in Tansania gewonnen, haben unser Wissen zu den Primaten entscheidend geprägt. Ihre intensive und hautnahe Beschäftigung mit den Tieren war Stoff für viele Bücher und auch Filme. Sie kann ohne Übertreibung als Pionier auf ihrem Gebiet bezeichnet werden. Foto: Von Nick Stepowyj at https://www.flickr.com/people/nickstep/ - https://www.flickr.com/photos/nickstep/5407412315/, CC BY 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=13238971

Marie Skłodowska Curie

(* 7. November 1867 in Warschau, Russisches Kaiserreich; † 4. Juli 1934 bei Passy)

Marie Curie hat im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes ihr Leben für die Wissenschaft gegeben. Bekannt ist sie in erster Linie für ihre Forschungen rund um die Radioaktivität als deren Mitentdeckerin sie gilt. Sie ist die einzige Frau, die mehr als einmal den Nobelpreis erhalten hat (1903 Physik, 1911 Chemie) und hat auf beiden Feldern Bahnbrechendes geleistet.

Linus Benedict Torvalds

(* 28. Dezember 1969 in Helsinki)

Am 25. August 1991 verfasste Linus Torvalds einen Post in der Newsgroup comp.os.minix, in dem er ankündigte, an einem Minix-ähnlichen Betriebssystem zu arbeiten, welches vermutlich niemals eine größere Verbreitung finden würde. Rückblickend betrachtet war das der Startschuß für ein einzigartiges Betriebssystem. Linus Torvalds hatte den Grundstein für etwas gelegt, das sich in den folgenden Jahren über eine bis dahin nie gekannte Vielzahl an Plattformen vom mobilen Device bis hin zum Großrechner verbeitet hat. Ohne diesen Schritt wären viele revolutionäre Entwicklungen im Internet so nicht passiert. Viele Unternehmen, die heute Weltkonzerne sind, setzen im Kern auf dem Grundstein auf, den Linus Torvald zu Beginn der 90er Jahre gelegt hat. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist Linus Torvalds für uns wahrlich ein Pionier.

Erfahren sie mehr über GONICUS

Making of

Making of

Philosophie

Philosophie

Jobs

Jobs

Pioniere

Pioniere

x
x

Der Job interessiert mich!

Wir haben Deine E-Mail-Adresse erhalten und melden uns kurzfristig bei Dir!